Top Ten Tuesday: My Most-Read Authors…kind of.

Hello All!

As posted last week, I’ve decided to begin participating in Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week, the challenge is: Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From! Aaaaand I’m immediately going to begin cheating. Okay, so here’s the deal. I have made my list with 5 authors I have read the most books from and 5 authors I would like to read the most more books from. I just had so many authors that I had read 2 or 3 books from, I couldn’t decide which ones to include. So I decided only to use those who I had read more than 3 books from, and that list was decidedly shorter because apparently I am an author flake. I also included my favorite book from each author. So, here we go!

Top 5 Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From:

J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter. Need I say more? I actually haven’t read any of her other works because I didn’t hear good things about A Casual Vacancy and I didn’t want to tar my adoration of Rowling. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Total Read: 7

Dan Brown

I loooooove the Robert Langdon series. Brown makes all of his thrillers feel absolutely real, sparking controversies galore and it is fabulous. His only dark mark (haha, HP reference) is one little novel titled Digital Fortress. It was terrible. But I’ll forgive him for it because it was his first published work.

Total Read: 5

George R. R. Martin

George. You’re killin’ me. Can I PLEASE read A Dance With Dragons?!

Total Read: 5

But it would be higher if it were up to me.

Sarah Dessen

I haven’t read Sarah Dessen in a long time, and I can’t remember exactly what my favorite book was but I think it was this one. Dessen is a fantastic writer for young teenage girls, I wolfed each book down and adored every one. I now realize they’re all pretty much the same plot. But still, she’s great.

Books Read: 8

Carolyn Keene

Hello, Nancy Drew? Anyone?! Now, I am aware that Carolyn Keene is a pseudonym for a group of ghostwriters which technically makes her multiple authors… but I read so many Nancy Drew books that I thought this should count anyway. I have no idea if this one was my favorite, or how many of them I read, but I can tell you there were a lot.

Top 5 Authors I’d like to read more from:

Margaret Atwood

I read The Handmaid’s Tale earlier this year and absolutely loved it. I have now added several Atwood novels to my want-to-read list, The Blind Assassin being #1.

J. R. R. Tolkein

I have actually read both The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring, but I must read the rest of the LOTR series. I’m quite sad with myself that I haven’t.

Ray Bradbury

The Martian Chronicles is the only book I’ve read by Bradbury, but I love his writing style and am eager to read more. Fahrenheit 451 here I come.

Gillian Flynn

I think Flynn’s thrillers are refreshingly original. I’ve read both Gone Girl and Dark Places and I loved both of them even though the characters were completely neurotic and unlovable. Now that’s the mark of a good novel.

Diana Gabaldon

Sadly, the only Gabaldon novel I’ve read is Outlander, the first of the series. I would like to read the rest of them but there are so many long novels it’s a bit daunting. She is a fantastic author though, I read Outlander extremely quickly for its size.

That’s it for this week folks!

What are some of your most read? Most recommended authors?

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Most-Read Authors…kind of.

Let's Discuss

