New books new books! Mini Book Haul

I have a confession to make. I am just not strong enough. The books. They call to me.

I’ve read so many reviews in the past month (I’ve been blogging for a whole 12th of a year! Yay!) and added so many new books to my want-to-read shelf on Goodreads that I just couldn’t resist buying a few of them. Can you blame me? If you’re on this page, you probably understand the struggle.

So I am still continuing on The Quest, but as so many of the books on that list are pretty heavy, figuratively. Although a few of them actually are chunkers. I could do some weight-lifting with Team of Rivals. I’m going to start reading some lighter books in between. Shake things up a bit, ya know?

IMG_5817

P.S. Books are speeensive. Unless you buy them on Amazon. Or second-hand. How do some bloggers buy like 10 books at a time?! But sometimes you just want to go hang out at a bookstore and bring home the physical copies, you know?

IMG_5818

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve seen this one popping up on various blogs, and I was really in the mood for a new fantasy book! Before I decide to read a book, I flip it open to a random page and read a few paragraphs to decide if I like the author’s writing style, and I definitely like Bardugo’s. Plus, The Darkling? Bad ass.

“Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life–a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.”

-Goodreads Description

IMG_5820

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

This little beauty has stirred up quite a controversy! It’s gotten me quite curious. Despite so many negative reviews, I just have to read it myself. I have decided to believe that the key to enjoying it is keeping in mind that it’s basically a rough draft and Harper Lee is just that fantastic. We shall see if I’m right. *fingers crossed*

“Maycomb, Alabama. Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch–“Scout”–returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus. Set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise’s homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to her. Memories from her childhood flood back, and her values and assumptions are thrown into doubt. Featuring many of the iconic characters from To Kill a Mockingbird, Go Set a Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in a painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past–a journey that can be guided only by one’s conscience.

Written in the mid-1950s, Go Set a Watchman imparts a fuller, richer understanding and appreciation of Harper Lee. Here is an unforgettable novel of wisdom, humanity, passion, humor and effortless precision–a profoundly affecting work of art that is both wonderfully evocative of another era and relevant to our own times. It not only confirms the enduring brilliance of To Kill a Mockingbird, but also serves as its essential companion, adding depth, context and new meaning to an American classic.”

-Goodreads Description

IMG_5819

The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin

I think I’ve only seen one review of this one, but I saw it at the store and opened it to the first page. On the very first page, the main character (I’m assuming?) is debating what animal the royals in front of her look most like. If a book can make me laugh in the first paragraph, I’m obviously going to read it! Plus, that cover is gorgeous. I’m sorry you can’t tell in the photo. It wouldn’t stay down. And you can’t see the shiny star thingy’s! I guess you’ll just have to buy it and read it with me.

“In 1875, Sisi, the Empress of Austria is the woman that every man desires and every woman envies.

Beautiful, athletic and intelligent, Sisi has everything – except happiness. Bored with the stultifying etiquette of the Hapsburg Court and her dutiful but unexciting husband, Franz Joseph, Sisi comes to England to hunt. She comes looking for excitement and she finds it in the dashing form of Captain Bay Middleton, the only man in Europe who can outride her. Ten years younger than her and engaged to the rich and devoted Charlotte, Bay has everything to lose by falling for a woman who can never be his. But Bay and the Empress are as reckless as each other, and their mutual attraction is a force that cannot be denied.

Full of passion and drama, THE FORTUNE HUNTER tells the true story of a nineteenth century Queen of Hearts and a cavalry captain, and the struggle between love and duty.”

-Goodreads Description

Let me know if you’ve read any of these! What did you think of them?

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

Let's Discuss

