Perfect Ruin – Review

Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)Title: Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles #1)
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Published: Published March 10th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Rating: 3.5/5

“On Internment you can be anything you dream – a novelist or a singer, a florist or a factory worker… Your life is yours to embrace or to squander. There’s only one rule: you don’t approach he edge. If you do, it’s already over.” 

How awesome is that quote? I was totally sold as soon as I read that. I chose this book for a Young Adult Literature class I took last year, and I read it so quickly that, fast-forward a year, and I could hardly remember what had happened. Then last weekend, my boyfriend and I were going camping and I was in the mood for a dystopian-type book, so I decided to re-read it. Again, I read it in a few hours!

Perfect Ruin is about a girl named Morgan I seriously just had to search through the book to find her name, I hope it’s written as sparingly as I think it is or else I’m losing it, guys! who lives on a piece of Earth that was banished to the sky (supposedly by a god but the real reason is never explained). Morgan’s brother was a jumper – a person who is so torturedly curious about the Earth below that they tried to jump off the edge. Morgan loves internment, and doesn’t question the way things are on her little chunk of earth – until she’s forced to.

In pieces…. I didn’t like a lot of this novel. But as a whole…. I did. I think this happens to me a lot when I read YA. The writing can be fantastic and completely push me through the novel, but if I think about it it doesn’t feel like it has any meaning. Perfect Ruin was no different. I couldn’t put it down and I immediately wanted to start reading book two. I really liked the premise and the description of Internment; it’s an interesting idea for a dystopian novel. But there were some things that just didn’t work. Like why do the jumpers get thrown back onto Internment with distinctly different disabilities? Why do they end up with disabilities at all? How does Internment stay afloat? Shouldn’t there be a giant hole in the earth where it used to be? I think this is the kind of novel that you have to be comfortable just accepting what the author says is true, without any rhyme or reason as to why it’s true.

The lengths taken to remove strife from Morgan’s tiny world were engaging; the required tonics and medications and the problems they caused was an interesting reflection on the same problems we have here on real Earth. The childhood betrothals I can believe would be necessary but sound terrible. I actually believed Pen’s (Morgans lively, awesome best friend) betrothal story more than Morgan’s.. I don’t know why. Basil, Morgan’s betrothed, was just a really boring character. Protective and loyal. Kind of like a dog but less interesting. (Also, they fill their wedding bands with their spouse’s blood? Ew. Wouldn’t it congeal?)

I don’t think I’m going to read the rest of the series. I’m a little bit concerned it’ll get worse. But I’ve read Perfect Ruin twice, so I think that’s saying something! I wouldn’t say it’s an epic series, but if you’re in the mood for an easy to read, engaging YA dystopian, go for it!

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

What’d you think of this one? Should I continue the series?

One thought on “Perfect Ruin – Review

Let's Discuss

