Reflections of August

Goodbye August!

You’ve been a lovely month full of sunshine and interesting rainstorms that cause power outages and the cancellation of an event at work. Both my sister and my dad celebrated their birthdays, I went home for the county fair, spent some time camping with my boyfriend amidst a burn ban (making s’mores over a propane burner is always interesting), started my classes up, painted a new (well, old, but new to me) bookshelf, and of course, read a lot.

Books I Read:

Wuthering HeightsThe Disciple (Tommy Carmellini, #4)Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop CafeCinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)Great ExpectationsThe Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)                                         The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)

Yes, I am reading the Percy Jackson series for the very first time. Crazy. Also, I can’t believe it took me this long to discover the Lunar Chronicles, but perfect timing since Winter is coming out in a few months and I’m so very excited !!!

https://i0.wp.com/media2.giphy.com/media/HblOOWbFjX8Ri/giphy.gif

My standings for The Quest No. 1 are as follows:

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe – Fannie Flagg
  2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  3. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
  4. The Disciple by Stephen Koontz

And FGT takes the lead! This is such an exciting race.

Currently Reading:

Progress: 175/241

This is a very short book that is taking me a very long time to read. I have very conflicting feelings about it. You will see, my friends. Well, you will read. Soon, I promise!

Reviews:

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
The Disciple by Stephen Coontz
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Tags and Things:

Top Ten Tuesdays:
My Most-Read Authors
Authors Whose Grocery Lists I’d Read
Top Ten Tuesday Time!

Other Stuff:

Where have the Young Adults gone?
Real People Read Reviews, Reviewers
New books new books! Mini Book Haul

Favorite Book of the Month:

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)

I didn’t actually like Cress as a character at first, but she grew a lot in this book which I appreciated, since I very much disliked Scarlet in Scarlet, who did not grow. She may actually have shrank. Also, oh my when are Captain Thorne and Cress going to happen?! SO PRECIOUS.

Least Favorite Book of the Month:

The Disciple (Tommy Carmellini, #4)

Yeah…. just no.

That’s it for this month!

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

4 thoughts on “Reflections of August

  1. Jackie G. says:

    I’ve never read anything by Rick Riordan, but I finally bought the first Percy Jackson book because so many people adore the series. Are you enjoying it so far? For some reason, I’m a little hesitant to read it; what if I’m the weirdo in the world that doesn’t like it?

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Hahaha even if you are, it’s okay! Riordan is a really good writer. I didn’t love the first one, because Percy is only 12 so it’s definitely written for children. I think it gets better as it goes on and gets more complex though. Just keep in mind you probably won’t love it as much as the people who read it when they were kids, doesn’t have the whole nostalgia thing going on!

      Like

Let's Discuss

