September TBR!!

Hey Guys!

I just got a new shipment from Amazon with – you guessed it – new books! Yay! I am very excited and wanted to share them with you, so I decided to do it in TBR form.

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE September. I’m totally a Fall person. I don’t do well in heat. Also, my birthday happens to be in September. So I’d better have some fan-freakin-tastic books to read during one of my favorite months, right? Right.

I’m shooting for 2 books from The Quest, and 4 books that I’ve acquired recently and am too excited about to put off!

From The Quest:

IMG_5847

  1. Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin
    I’m going to try really hard to finish this one this month, but as you can see, it’s a rather large book. And the words are itty-bitty. But I have already started it, you can see my bookmark in there, I’m about 3% through ;), and it is very, very well written. Even better than Erik Larson, whose work I really enjoy. Goodwin is unbelievably thorough, she has about 100 pages of references! Just in case you don’t know, it’s the book that the movie Lincoln was based off of. Yes, I own the version with the movie poster on the cover. Bad, bad J. But it’s a pretty badass cover, anyway.

Pages: 757 (The other 200 some pages are annotations and an index. Wow.)

  1.  The Racketeer by John Grisham
    I’m going in to this one blind. I’m a little bit nervous because the last time I did that, it was The Disciple, and it really didn’t work out well for me. Wish me luck!

Pages: 382


Dealer’s Choice:

IMG_5848

  1. The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin
    I’m still quite excited to read this one. It’s just preeeetty. If you want to see my other thoughts about it, check out this post!

Pages: 468

Also, that giant jack is a bookend!! I love it. It’s from World Market. My new fave. Actually, so is the globe above!


These just in (!!!):

IMG_5846

  1. Seige and Storm by Leigh Bardugo:
    WOOOHOOOO. I already fleshed out all my thoughts on this series so far in an unnecessarily long rant-like post, but I’m honestly really really excited to continue them. Even though I have a not-so-sneaking suspicion that they’re not going to turn out how I want them to, I love Bardugo’s writing. I’m officially a fan. If anyone wants to send me their ARC of Six of Crows, I’d love them forever….just sayin….

Pages: 435

  1. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo:
    See above. :D

Pages: 417

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas:
    I KNOW. I know. Everyone and their mother, grandfather, and unborn child has read these books. In my defense, I’m relatively new to the book blogging community and I didn’t know they existed until I started J. Bookish and Maas’ books popped up EVERYWHERE. So I’m hopping on the bandwagon. I have very high expectations because of all of you! Excitement & nervousness are making me dance around our apartment like a crazy person. Don’t worry, my boyfriend accepts me in all my grand weirdness.

Pages: 404


Total Books: 6
Total Pages: 2,863

I’m also listening to the Percy Jackson series at work, so the final two of those will probably be wrapped up this month as well. Then I’m going to write a grand Percy Jackson series review post. *Wiggles eyebrows*

I digress. I’m off to read!
Actually, I should probably do my homework….ahh blog post procrastination

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

3 thoughts on “September TBR!!

  1. Maude says:

    I wish you luck for Grisham but I don’t think you will need it! Grisham’s legal thrillers are fun and fast paced and interesting. Hope you enjoy it but beware, it is easy to get hooked on the Grisham “genre”!

    Like

Let's Discuss

