Top 10: Series I may never finish

Top 10 Tuesday-1Happy Tuesday!

Hope everyone in the U.S. had a fantastic long weekend!

As you know, Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top 10 Completed Series I have Yet to Finish. To be honest, most of these I’m also not going to finish. If I read a series that has been completed, I’m either going to read them all as quickly as possible, or I’m just not interested enough to continue them. I mean, come on. Reading a series is a commitment.

OUTLANDER

I really enjoyed the first book of this series, but I tried to listen to A Firefly in Amber and I couldn’t get into it. I kind of think this should have been a standalone novel.

THE DARK TOWER

I’m really sad this was my first Stephen King experience. It was relatively short, I was traveling for work, and the storyline sounded awesome. But it wasn’t. It wasn’t really anything for me: not scary, not captivating, just blah.

MILLENIUM

I loved The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. It’s fantastic. I don’t know why I haven’t read the rest of this series. I think one of my friends told me he didn’t like the second book and I got scared to continue. I’ll probably finish this one some day though. Or at least give book 2 a try!

INTERNMENT CHRONICLES

I reviewed Perfect Ruin not too long ago. If you read that review, you know my mixed feelings about this book. I actually really liked it, but I wasn’t invested enough to continue the series. Probably won’t finish this one.

GRISHA

alscj;eoijasfl;ksejea. Again, just wrote a post on this one. I love it. I’m scared to continue, but the rest of the series arrived yesterday, so I know I’ll dive in soon! *happy dance*

LORD OF THE RINGS

I actually am planning to completely re-read this whole series, because I never read The Return of the King and I read the rest of it so long ago that I can’t just pick up the last book!

FIFTY SHADES OF GREY

I stopped reading this as soon as I realized it was Twilight fan fiction. Nope.

ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

Once upon a time I had an English class that we picked our own books for. I don’t remember why I picked this one, but I really liked it. At that time, it was not a trilogy, and I forgot all about it for a long time. I didn’t know it was a series until fairly recently. Maybe I’ll finish it. I guess I’m kind of curious what happens.

https://i2.wp.com/static2.hypable.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover.jpg

PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS

I’m in the process of listening to these. I’m on The Battle of the Labrynth. I’ll be finished with these soon!

HIS DARK MATERIALS

I just couldn’t finish these. It got too weird. I got about halfway through the final book and just stopped. I didn’t care anymore. I did love The Golden Compass, but the series slowly went downhill after that for me.

Should I finish any of these? Let me know!

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

23 thoughts on “Top 10: Series I may never finish

  1. Sajda says:

    I completely agree with your take on Outlander. It took me a while to get through the first book (love the show though) and the rest of the books are just so large and intimidating. The first book definitely could have been a standalone if an epilogue was included or something.

    Like

  2. Samantha Reed says:

    You should finish Outlander <3 It's worth it, trust me. I had a hard time getting into the second book too, the first one was just so much better! But, I hunkered down and did it and now I love it all. Season Two starts this March/April on Stars <3 The perfect way to get into it again is to binge the first season.

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Ok ok I might give it another shot. I think part of the problem was that I was listening to it and it’s just too wordy to be listened to! I’ve never actually seen the show, I don’t have cable!! *crying* It’s surprisingly expensive. I think we’re going to get it soon though, can’t go through the holidays without cheesy Christmas movies…. :)

      Like

      • Samantha Reed says:

        Haha it’s a perfect thing to watch : ) I’m sure you can find it online now, at least season one. It is wordy, I’ll give you that. Reading it makes it easier, though, as does watching the show – it makes things a lot easier to visualize when convoluted. The books are really good, I just think they are wonderful adventures

        Liked by 1 person

  3. vbooksunveiled says:

    Oh I finished the Grisha and the Olympians series. Also just finished the Heroes of Olympus companion series to Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and now I feel so alone! I have a review on my blog, after finishing the Heroes of Olympus I felt devastated. I practically grew up with Percy and Annabeth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      Ahh I totally have the other side of the coin, I started reading them at 22! So I was worried I’d be too old, but I’m totally not. They were awesome. The characters were AMAZING. Especially Percy and Annabeth, of course.

      Like

      • vbooksunveiled says:

        Of course. I can relate to Percy very easily. We’re both very sarcastic. And after all, me being a daughter of Poseidon and all, we get on on good terms. Usually it’s to go hunt sea monsters, but either way, I whip that trident out of his hands. ;)

        Saw another comment about the Grisha series. Well. I know you sort of hate Mal in the second book. I did too. But you’ll love him in the third book. However, you will never stop loving Darklina! I won’t spoil anything for you in Siege and Storm, but, *unintelligible cough*. Hopefully when you finish we can sit together and book fandom together.

        Liked by 1 person

      • vbooksunveiled says:

        Oh, so you are on the 3rd book??? Good……now we can both scream our heads off at Mal for **punch** Zoya **clears throat**!!!!!!!!! I was so mad!!!!! I was about to go and stick his wretched head to a flagpole. Honestly, Mal is so—like you just wanna go ugh.

        Like

  4. Jackie G. says:

    I started Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief last weekend, and so far it’s really good. I’m so disappointed I didn’t pick it up sooner.

    I need to finish the LOTR series. I tried reading it aaaaages ago when I was 13 (so, when the first movie hit theaters, basically). I was obsessed with the movies, but I couldn’t get into the books. They were not as exciting as the movies. I got all the way to the third chapter of the third book, and I gave up. At the beginning of this year, I decided to give the series another go, and I’m glad I did (ignore the fact that I’ve put the book down temporarily in favor of other books). I really, really like it now.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bex says:

    Oh The Fifty Shades comment lol. I gave up about three chapters in because the writing was just so gamed wadi but when I found out later that’s what it was it made so much sense and I wanted to punch an acquisitions editor in the face. Actually an entire editorial team. And. Marketing team. And the author can go back to playing in her fan fic sandbox where she belongs.

    Like

  6. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Omg Perfect Ruin has an amazing cover *dies* I need to check it out on that alone.
    I still haven’t finished the Grisha series despite starting almost as soon as the first book came out, I got put off by Mal as the love interest *terrible*

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Isn’t it pretty?? That’s the cover I have, but they changed them when they finished the trilogy :( maybe that’s why I don’t want to finish them….
      I just started book two of the Grisha series! Mal is quite boring, but I love Bardugo’s writing style

      Like

Let's Discuss

