My Reading Habits Tag

Hellooooo Friends!

I have been so MIA. I’m sorry! I’m sure you didn’t notice. But I’m sorry anyway. I have reasons! Last week I got sick. But because I’m a big kid, I still had to go to work AND keep up with my classes, when all I wanted was to hibernate until my throat stopped throbbing. Why did I have to go to work while sick? Because my job is really weird and the closest replacement for me is 2 1/2 hours away. I know, awesome sauce. ALSO, it was my birthday! Such a fun way to have a birthday. I’m cursed when it comes to being sick at inopportune moments.. I got strep throat the night before my 21st. Tragic. But as soon as I started feeling better, my man took me to a fancy dinner and then my parents came to visit and then I had a surprise party! So I just have had zero extra time. But I’m back! Thank you for not writing me off as a bad job, you’re wonderful.

Now, it is time, for my first OFFICIAL tag! As in, someone actually tagged me! It’s a miracle. Thank you Veda @ Bookzillian Society, you’re the coolest. This tag was originally created by TheBookJazz over in the YouTube labrynth. So if you’re wondering about my reading habits, keep on scrollin’

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Pshhhht. No. I read everywhere. On the couch, on the bed, at the table, standing up, sitting down, on my head. Yes, that was a joke. I think I’m funny. But I read any moment I have. Often while waiting for water to boil, because its the most boring activity in the world, but you can’t just leave it, because then it’ll boil over…



2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Bookmark…but not the fancy kind. I am apparently amazing at holding onto those paper bookmarks you get at good bookstores? I’ve had some of them for years and years. I also like to use little notes my boyfriend writes. Which aren’t actually bookmarks.. they fall under the paper category I guess.. but they’re not random soooo. I also have a few lovely bookmarks I’ve gotten from kids I’ve worked with in the past at summer camps and such. My favorite has my name on it with lots of polka dots, and the little girl who made it told me she had worked really hard to make the paint crimson because that’s my school color. *pause for the awwwww*. I know! Who needs expensive fancy bookmarks?

https://i2.wp.com/ak-hdl.buzzfed.com/static/2014-08/20/19/enhanced/webdr06/anigif_enhanced-10039-1408577406-21.gif

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

Haha uhmm I’m weird about this. It depends on how the book is formatted. If I can’t get to the end of the chapter and it’s a book that divides chapters into sections, I’ll read to the end of one of those. But if it doesn’t, I have to read until I get to a page that begins with a new paragraph. OCD? I also hate scrolling down a webpage and have the cut off on the top be halfway through a line of text. It has to be in a clean blank space. Hahahaha. Like I said, I’m weird.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Sometimes. If I’m eating and I feel like reading then I read. I don’t usually, though. I think I’m kind of always drinking something though: water, coffee, juice, wine, cocoa, tea… Hydration is important, people.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

No. Just no. I read wayyyyy slower if there’s background noise. Unless the book is really good, and then it doesn’t matter. But I never turn the TV or music on specifically to read, who does that? (I apologize if you do that. No offense. You do you.)



6. One book at a time or several at once?

Just one. Yes, I’m a book monogamist. I used to read multiple at once, but it would take forever to finish any of them because I’d want to give them all equal reading time because I’m cool and fair like that.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Is this a “what do you prefer?” question or a “which do you do?” question?

I’ll answer both.

I read everywhere. I bring books with me whenever I think I’ll have some waiting time.

I prefer to read outside. Whether that be at a park or on the balcony at my apartment, it doesn’t really matter. I just like the fresh air. I think it helps my imagination.

8. Reading out lout or silently in your head?

Silently. Hahah is this a serious question? I do like to be read to though! I listen to audiobooks while doing mindless tasks (OH I totally read multiple books at once if you count those!). And I like to read to kids. Anything that will get them into reading!

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

No. Although I used to have a terrible habit of looking up what happens at the end of a book. A man on a plane once told me he always read the end of the book first, in case he died before he could finish it. I think it scarred me. Now I have bad habits. I try to resist.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

WHAT. Breaking the spine?! What is this madness. Those poor books. Severed spinal cords. You murderer.



11. Do you write in your books? 

Only the textbook variety. Since I’ve been blogging I keep my thoughts on the notepad app on my phone so I can remember to put them into my reviews.

That’s it? Game over? Okay, time to read.

I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

4 thoughts on “My Reading Habits Tag

  1. aimalfarooq says:

    Wowza, it’s like you and I are the same people, bahah! :D “Never half-ass two things. Whole-ass one thing.” Wise words, Mr. Swanson, especially when applied to books. And my reaction to a book spine breaking is exactly the same- like, what is this sacrilege? :D

    Like

Let's Discuss

