The Emoji Book Tag!

Hello bookish friends!

Today I’m going to take a stab at integrating some technology into my bookish thoughts with the emoji book tag! Thank you Maria @ Marwhal Reads for tagging me! [If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, do it, it’s awesome.] From what I gather, I’m supposed to take my five most-used or most-recently used emojis and match them up to a book! What if I didn’t have an iPhone?! It’s ok though, I do.

I’m not gonna lie to you guys, I was sorely tempted to use the most interesting emojis in my little “frequently used” emoji box thingy majigy. Buuuut I didn’t. Guess I’m not a rebel after all. BUT I am very excited because this tag gave me a chance to get away from my go-to books and give a shout out to some that I haven’t talked about yet! I also took the liberty of naming my emojis. Do they have official names? I don’t really know… mine are better, anyway.

  1. Flirty Emoji

I interpreted the flirty emoji in book form to mean a kind of cutesy romance. Then I realized I don’t really read cutesy romances. Enter Sophie Kinsella to save the day! Kinsella’s books are indeed cutesy, but they are also witty and fun. I love Remember Me? I’ve actually read it more than once, and I loved it both times! Remember Me? (It’s really odd to use a book title with a question mark) begins with Lexi outside of a bar waiting for a cab. The next thing you know, she wakes up in the hospital… three years later. Everything is perfect, and she can’t remember how she got from her crap job and frizzy hair to her gorgeous husband and lavish life. It’s a really fun book if you’re in the mood for a no-brainer; we all need them sometimes!

2. Warm and Fuzzy Emoji

This emoji invokes “D’awwww” to me. So I went for a warm and fuzzy book that just makes you feel happy. My Most Excellent Year follows three kids: T.C., Augie, and Alejandra, through their 9th grade year. T.C. and Augie have considered each other brothers since they were youngins, even though they couldn’t be more different. Alejandra just moved to Boston with her ambassador father, and T.C. immediately falls in love (ok, yes it’s insta-love, but she holds him off and they become besties don’t worry). The whole book is just wonderful. If you haven’t read it I highly recommend it!

3. The “Lovin’ What You’re Lookin’ At” Emoji

I’m taking this emoji to mean something like: everything about this book is perfect I just want to hug it. I haven’t read Ella Enchanted in a long time, but it was really popular when I was young and I WAS OBSESSED. It’s a retelling of Cinderella, but not really at all. Ella has been cursed by a fairy trying to give her a gift: the gift of obedience. She has to obey any command. When her mother passes away we bring in the typical evil stepmother and stepsisters, and Ella goes off to school. This book was just magical to me when I was young. Levine is an absolutely amazing author and oh my goodness the movie was NOTHING like the book.

4. The “Ex-stream” Laughter Emoji (See what I did there?)

Hahaha I’m such a dweeb. Ex-stream. Cause it’s laughing so hard it’s crying. Yeaaah. Ok I’m done now. So anyway, obviously I had to use a funny book for this emoji! The Sex Lives of Cannibals is hilarious. J. Maarten Troost and his then-girlfriend decided to drop everything they had in D.C. and move to an island in the equatorial pacific called Tarawa. Tarawa could not be more different from the U.S. This is actually a non-fiction chronicle of Troost’s time on Tarawa, and the entire book is funny. He’s a fantastic writer and life on the island is just ridiculous. This book actually opened my eyes to non-fiction, I had previously been completely disinterested. Now I love non-fiction. In fact, I’m talking about another NF book below…

5. The Leaky Faucet Face Emoji

Tears. All of the tears. Unbroken broke me a little bit. I remember very distinctly feeling very aware of my own mortality, which was a weird feeling for a book to give. I’m sure you’ve all heard of Unbroken. It’s based on the life of Olympic runner Louis Zamperini and his absolutely harrowing experience as a pilot during WWII. It was made into a movie which I have yet to watch because I haven’t had the time to mentally prepare myself for how drained I know I’ll feel after watching it. Unbroken is absolutely incredible. The writing, the story, everything. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly highly encourage you to. This is without a doubt one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Yay I did it!

I’ve never tagged anyone for a tag… but I’m going to try it. No worries if you don’t want to accept it, this is like freeze tag so you can freeze and I can’t technically tag you. That’s totally not how freeze tag works, is it… oh well.

Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks
Samantha @ Reed’s Reads & Reviews
Deanna @ a novel glimpse

I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

6 thoughts on “The Emoji Book Tag!

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Oh my gosh, I absolutely agree with your answer with Unbroken. I read it the beginning of this year and was so surprised by how much I loved it (I hardly read nonfiction). What’s unreal and made it so devastating is that it’s a true story.

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      That’s when I read it too! I’ve just started to realize that non-fiction can be pretty awesome this year. But the story really is amazing and it is so hard to read because it’s true! Definitely a must-read :)

      Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      Of course! I was so confused. I thought maybe I remembered the book wrong! They just made the whole thing like, fun? Where the book was more real. If that makes sense at all…

      Like

Let's Discuss

