I went to….. (!!!)

Hello friends!

This weekend I went on a lovely anniversary mini-vacation with my wonderful boyfriend! Normally I wouldn’t bore you with details about my real human life, BUT I have a very important bookish visit to share!!

FullSizeRender

WE WENT TO POWELL’S!!!!!! Powell’s Book City is the largest independent bookstore IN. THE. WORLD. and oh my goodness it is FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC (especially if you’re a fan of books…hehe…ok I’m done). I had a mini meltdown when we walked in. The bookstore is like a giant maze of floors and rooms of rainbow colors. Each color is a different section. Each book has new and used copies of varying prices. So basically I got books that look brand new and beautiful for about half price! It was so cool. AND there were tons of people in there, which always makes me happy because yay people love books!

Sara Bareilles was there for a book signing which was pretty cool (I didn’t go because to be honest I wasn’t particularly interested in buying her book). But still, I mean, famous person in the house! *Insert raising the roof motion*.

I ended up only allowing myself to buy four books. Tim also got four books because we’re a cool couple like that.

And here they are! Well, here mine are.

These three I’ve been wanting for a while:

IMG_5932

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

I’ve wanted to read this for a really long time but I’ve had two problems: 1. They replaced the original with the movie cover and I obviously didn’t want that one and 2. It’s weirdly expensive considering its size. But I finally found it used for $10 and I’m super excited about it!

More Than This by Patrick Ness

I don’t know anything about this other than amazing. And it’s going to stay that way until I’ve read it myself!

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I’ve actually heard pretty terrible things about this one but I loved the movie and want to read it for myself. I don’t have terribly high expectations except for a fun read so hopefully that will help!

Aaaaand this one I’d never heard of:

IMG_5933The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

I pretty much love all of the trashy Tudor stories. So I’m excited to kind of check out and read this one, I’ve been reading lots of really engaging books lately and my brain and heart need a break! Bring on the trashy novels.

The cover is cool right?! It’s like gold inlaid and the photo is weird because I wanted it to show off its shininess. It’s definitely quite used but all of the other covers were of the movie (it’s a movie? with Natalie Portman?? HUH?) and only $6, so I went for it. Woot woot!

On another note, we also went to VooDoo Doughnuts, which you should go visit if you’re in Portland, because it’s quite yummy and where else are you going to get a chocolate and peanut butter doughnut called Dirty Old Bastard?

IMG_5939IMG_5941IMG_5940

Have you read any of my new books?? Been to Portland?? Let me know!

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

20 thoughts on “I went to….. (!!!)

  1. Jackie G. says:

    I have some books by Philipa Gregory, but I haven’t read them yet. They’re not her Tudor series though. They’re books from her Cousin’s War series, which focuses on the War of the Roses– only one of my most favorite time periods thanks to Shakespeare’s Richard III.

    I used to live in Oregon aaaages ago, so I’ve been to Portland, but I don’t remember it. I do remember an amazing cake that you can buy at the Beaverton Bakery, which is not far from Portland– ALMOND TOFFEE CAKE! The last time I tasted this, I was four. Now I’m 27, and I still think about this cake.

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      I am now a little bit ashamed to say I’m not familiar with the War of the Roses.. :(
      I love Oregon! My sister lived in Beaverton actually, she just moved back home. I wonder if she’s ever had your magical cake…

      Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Haha! He does read and is actually very encouraging in my love for books :) However, 99% of the time he reads non-fiction books about pirates, police officers, or travel. It’s pretty amusing. Not that I’m complaining ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Samantha Reed says:

        I love it so much XD No bullshit, I promise. and, YAY!!! This isn’t really a fangirling kind of book, it’s more of a sit and feel all the horrible feels sort of book – so I shall suffer with you through my memories, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. anovelglimpse says:

    Oh my gosh!!! That is SOOOO cool! I love that place! It as totally overwhelming! I went to Portland this summer with my friends for the Ed Sheeran concert. My BFF insisted she take me to Powell’s before we drove home. I cannot wait to go back. I would go to Portland for the day just to go to Powell’s! I need to plan a trip there!

    Like

Let's Discuss

