Six of Crows Review and Let’s Discuss (No spoilers)!

Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Published: Henry Holt and Co.
Rating5 Star Rating System 5 stars

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”

Just in case you’ve been living under a rock and have not yet seen Six of Crows in all its dark and glorious beauty, I’ve decided it’s imperative to share it with you. Hence the video. Because it’s officially my favorite book by appearance. In the whole world. I think. Maybe not. But it’s tied in first with a currently unknown number of others. Anywho, if you do not live under a rock and have seen the book, I give you permission to ignore me and my awkward frozen wave.

Just in case you were wondering if I’m as ridiculous in person as I am online, the answer is clearly yes. And yes, I make myself laugh. Often. Isn’t that what all the cool kids are doing? 

Review:

*Sigh* Where do I begin. Six of Crows is about an epic heist. This is not your average theft, this is theft in a fantasy world: the stakes have been raised. Has this ever been done before? It hasn’t to my knowledge. So we can certainly check off the “original plot” box. We get to return to the same world Bardugo created in the Grisha trilogy, but we are now transported to Ketterdam, a kind of Russian old-world Paris/Vegas. Ketterdam is filled with thugs and thieves, as is our crew.

The action begins in the very first chapter. Here is where I think it would be beneficial to have read the Grisha trilogy before SoC; the initial BANG won’t mean quite as much if you’re not familiar with Grisha power. That being said, the action does. not. stop. The entire book is filled with twists and turns that will keep your heart pounding and the pages turning.

I have decided that Bardugo is the master of literary delayed gratification. She teases with bits of information without ever giving you the whole story; she slowly moves the development forward and leaves you begging for more. I can almost guarantee that every person who reads this book will be itching to get their hands on its sequel; I know I certainly am.

The characters in SoC are unique in that their moral compasses point neither North nor South. They are vicious but human, inaccessible but lovable. There’s Kaz, the leader and the creator of the group (whom my brain absurdly compares to the Darkling and Barney Stinson); Inej, his right-hand woman; Jesper, the jester; Nina, the beauty; Matthias, the surly one; and Wylan, the one who is passable at blowing things up. I absolutely refuse to tell you anything more about them, because you deserve to suffer and enjoy Bardugo’s teasing just as much as the rest of us. Bardugo also graces us with occasional cameos of our Grisha characters, which is always fun!

SOO basically, read it. The hype is not for nothing, it is an absolutely fantastic book. It’s filled with beautiful friendships, troubled pasts, unbridled ambition, and so much more.

Note: when you read it, look for the rain on pg. 310. SUCH A GORGEOUS METAPHOR.

Let’s Discuss: Six of Crows vs. The Grisha Trilogy

I finished SoC about a week ago and I read it in two days. I’m kind of obsessed with Leigh Bardugo’s writing, so I knew that I would love it, and I did… I just thought the Grisha trilogy was better. I mean, this is a fantastic book. Truly. But I kind of don’t understand why everyone has their panties in a bunch about it. I mean, again, BARDUGO IS AMAZING. That is a fact. But SoC, in my opinion, isn’t by any means the leagues ahead of the Grisha trilogy that it is being hyped as. So I think I have my panties in a bunch because I loved those so much, and I feel like my parade is being rained on. But seriously, let me know what your thoughts are and why you think SoC is better! I’m genuinely curious. No hating from this girl. *Crosses heart**Doesn’t hope to die**Hopes not to die*.

Wherein I try to figure out why I feel this way:

Okay, I think that the writing in SoC was better. It was obviously a meticulously planned-out novel, and it was basically, well, brilliant. I think that maybe, maybe? I was just so blown away by the Darkling when I began Shadow and Bone that I was immediately involved in the book on a level that I’m not usually involved. If you look at my post here, I don’t even have thoughts about the book itself because I was so BLAHHH about the characters. I wasn’t captured in quite the same manner by any of the SoC characters. I love all of them, and I love how layered they are, and the drawn-out method we get to know them was perfect for the story, but I don’t know. I think that’s what left me less involved than the Grisha trilogy did. Additionally, I know a lot of people didn’t particularly enjoy Alina, especially at first. But I think her lack of characterization in the first book allows for the reader to slip into her shoes exceptionally well. I felt able to feel the story as opposed to reading it. In contrast, the alternating viewpoints in SoC lead to really high tension, but not so much accessibility.

OKAY now that I’ve figured out my own thoughts, tell me yours! If you haven’t read The Grisha Trilogy, I would looove to hear your first impressions of Bardugo’s writing. She’s amazing, right?!?

24 thoughts on “Six of Crows Review and Let’s Discuss (No spoilers)!

  1. aimalfarooq says:

    Oh my GOD. I need to get my hands on this ASAP. I’ve heard nothing but BRILLIANT things, and your review just confirms every word of praise I’ve heard. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I really enjoyed her Grisha trilogy, but I’ve heard this one is even better. Can’t wait to get into it. Great review! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Samantha Reed says:

    I’m so glad you liked it! Now we can fangirl together <3 I love Kaz so much, and Matthias too – despite the murderous tendencies. This is, hands down, my favorite book of the year and I shall scream it for the whole world to hear. Who was your favorite? XD

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Oh my god my notifications didn’t show like half of this comment so I didn’t respond properly, I fail. Okay now.Inej was definitely my favorite! I loved her. And I really liked her and nina’s friendship, I for some reason feel like female friendships don’t happen very often in fantasy?! Am I crazy?? I loved Kaz too though. And Matthias. I hated him at first but I grew to love him haha. Ahh everyone. Ahhhh next book.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Samantha Reed says:

        I need the next book so badly that it hurts : D I loved Inej and Nina’s friendship too. I agree that female friendships, at least ones that are meant to last, are not usually in books in general – not just fantasy. I’ve been seeing more friendship ones lately, but not enough. Have you read Vampire Academy? The driving force behind pretty much everything is the fierce friendship between Lisa and Rose : ) There is also and amazing friendship in the Morganville Vampires series between Claire and Eve

        Like

Let's Discuss

