November Book Haul! (Oh hey this is my 50th post)

IMG_5991Hello friends!

I have been accumulating some books this month that I’m very excited about so I thought I would share them with you! It was an accident I swear. I was trying to avoid traffic and I drove by the mall and saw a Half Price Books. I’ve never been to one and I was curious and I wasn’t going to buy anything but next thing I know I’m home with 5 new books. OOPS. Yes, that’s them in the picture to the left. Can you guess what they are? If you can, you either own them or you are magical and I am very impressed. I’m so excited to read them that I couldn’t decide which to start with and picked an old book instead. Teehee.  Anyway, let’s get into it!


IMG_5993

Round 1: YA Fantasy/Sci Fi, anyone?

Winter – Marissa Meyer

Check. Pre-ordered this one. Already finished it. I enjoyed it….. but I listened to the rest of the series on audiobook. And I think it was much more enjoyable to listen to than actually read. WHICH IS CRAZY TALK. I feel very odd and tingly about this. But I’m going to write up a full review right after I finish this post, so I’ll talk more about that soon. I will warn you, I’m not as full of love as everyone else seems to be.

The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

I originally wasn’t interested in this book because I’ve seen quite a few reviews that were pretty “meh” about it, and aliens aren’t generally my favorite. But I saw the preview for the movie and I actually think it looks really good, and I want to read the book before I see it! In all fairness, I think Chloe Grace Moretz is amazing. I thought If I Stay (book version) was terrible and the main character was insufferable and her priorities were just way out of whack. The movie, however, made me bawl my eyes out. It’s all Chloe’s fault. I am really hoping I do like this book though!

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Despite all of the amazing reviews, I actually wasn’t terribly interested in this either. (Is anyone else sensing a pattern here?) I was looking at the YA section in Half Price Books and saw this giant orange book and definitely did a double take. WHAT. Someone has already finished and recycled a basically brand-new release?! SCORE. Got it for $8.00 and it’s in perfect condition. I took it as a sign. It was calling to me. Who am I to disregard the universe?!


IMG_5992

Let’s continue a series…

Heir of Fire & Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas

Continuing the series! I’m also about to write my review for Throne of Glass, which I didn’t love. I am excited for the series to continue, however. I have decided I can only read one book a month. Then I can extend the series a bit longer. Plus I don’t want to buy the hardcover edition of Queen of Shadows because all of the others are paperback.. so I have to wait for it to be re-released… stalling tactics commence.

And OMG on another note, I had a freaking crazy dream the other night. It was like I was reading a book because I wasn’t in the dream I was just watching it. I’m pretty sure Cinder was the main character (are there main characters in dreams? Whatever) because Kai was definitely there and was in love with her but they couldn’t be together because she wasn’t royal and there were these people who had sacrificed a princess to gain her power (enter Throne of Glass) but when they did it they opened a portal and let invisible people through (add in some of The Subtle Knife?). IT WAS JUST CRAZY. Okay moving on.


IMG_5994

Oh hey look I got some adult lit!

Girl With a Pearl Earring – Tracy Chevalier

I remember when the movie for this came out and there was lots of buzz about the book. I was 11 at the time, and I don’t think it would have been quite appropriate for me at that time. The boring cover flap even says: “this luminous novel about artistic vision and sensual awakening”. WHEW. Steamy. But I think 23-year old me can probably handle it. Maybe. Let’s see how mature I actually am, shall we? Answer: not very. Haha but I have always been curious about it and there were a ton of copies that caught my eye so I was like hey. WHY NOT.

Night Film – Marisha Pessl

Night Film has been floating around Booktube lately. I was originally sold on it by Raeleen @ padfootandprongs07, but it keeps being mentioned and my curiosity has just grown. I’m really excited that there was a copy at Half Price Books, I didn’t expect it to be there but it was and I own it and I can’t wait to be scared pantless. Is that a saying? It just popped out of my head like it is.. but maybe I’m crazy. I actually have a huge frustration with common sayings because THEY MAKE NO SENSE. Hahaha I digress.

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

YAY. I’m so excited. I swear this book was stalking me pre-book blog. Every time I went to a bookstore it would pop out at me. For some reason, I was resisting it. I didn’t trust my book instincts. But now I’ve honed them and heard so many amazing things about it that I’ve been seriously questioning past me and I can’t wait to read it!


Soo yeah. That’s it.

I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

26 thoughts on “November Book Haul! (Oh hey this is my 50th post)

  1. Samantha Reed says:

    Look at all the pretty books! I’m so jealous! XD I just bought a crap ton of books, but they’re all shipping to my home address so I won’t get them until I go home for winter break. Illuminae is amazIng, by the way <3 One of my favorites this year

    Like

      • Samantha Reed says:

        Sadly, no : ( I wish I was, but it’s just too expensive to fly home. I get to go home in about three weeks – so we saved up for that. I miss my family so much, though.

        I don’t think you’ll be disappointed 😍 I was skeptical about starting it because of the formatting, I’ve never been one for interview/journal/diagrams and stuff in my book – but I was completely blown away by Illuminae XD

        Like

  2. Carlisa says:

    Literally The Night Circus is one of my all-time favorite books so I hope you read it and LOVE it. Seriously, let me know.

    Alsoooo, I’m curious about The Girl with the Pearl Earring. I want to hear your thoughts on that one too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      Hahah I just didn’t understand why the whole time she was thinking about her relationship. Her whole family just died and she’s like hmm this is a good time to ponder my relationship troubles. I think I’m just as bad haha

      Like

  3. A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

    I am actually going to read Iluminae next because for one the book smell is addictive and two, I find the book format really interesting even though I’m not a sci-fi person. I feel sad that there isn’t nothing like Half Price Books in the UK! I am really intrigued with Night Film as well- everyone says that it’s really creepy. Thank god you gave into your bookish instincts- The Night Circus is the best!

    Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Hahahaha the book smell? In general or specifically the smell of Illuminae? The format is really unique, I hope it works for me! I’ve heard sooo many good things about The Night Circus. I need to listen to my bookish instincts more often!

      Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        You know the book smell which is SO GOOD. You have the average, nice smelling ones and then you have Illuminae. I think if I talk about book smells anymore I will need to question my saneness. The Night Circus is one of my favourite reads of the year- I hope you like it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      It was really fun to listen to! I think it’s perfectly paced for an audiobook, there’s always enough action to keep you listening. And the narrator was really good, when I read Winter I kept hearing her voice in my head haha

      Like

Let's Discuss

