12 Days of Christmas: Day 6

12 days of christmas blogging

This challenge was created by Stephanie @ Scale Simple! I was tagged by Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse; she’s my WA sister blogger and you should check her out!


Day 6: Share a fond Christmas memory:

My family is huge. Like, HUGE. My dad is number 6 of 12 kids. I have 40 first cousins on my dad’s side alone. I think my favorite Christmas tradition was going to my grandparents house on Christmas morning. All of the family would be there and Papa would play Santa Claus. Not like he’d dress up or anything, but he would wear a Santa hat and pass out presents. Our family is way too big for everyone to get everyone a gift, so every year our parents would draw names of the cousins and that would be who we’d get gifts for. So a different cousin would get us one gift, as well as our grandparents. My grandma would keep the presents downstairs, and all of the kids would be down their searching for their own gift until it was time to bring them all upstairs. It was absolute mayhem. But it was the happiest sort of mayhem. My Papa passed away when I was 16, but it’s those happy, untouchable  memories that keep Christmas so special to me.


I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas: Day 6

Let's Discuss

