12 Days of Christmas: Day 8

12 days of christmas blogging

This challenge was created by Stephanie @ Scale Simple! I was tagged by Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse; she’s my WA sister blogger and you should check her out!


Day 8: Share a local Christmas tradition in your town or country

UHMMM. I don’t know of any specific traditions in my town. And I just realized that I am quite ignorant of Christmas traditions in other countries versus traditions in the U.S. So instead of sharing my traditions, I researched some other countries’ traditions!

Russia

Celebrates Christmas on January 6th! (Sorry about the flag, the top stripe is white! Unfortunately, white=camouflage)

Ireland

Children leave out mince pies and a bottle of Guinness on Christmas Eve. I guess he’s gotta keep warm somehow…

Venezuela

In the capital of Venezuela, Caracus, the streets are closed on Christmas Day so people can roller skate to church!

Japan

Apparently many families have a traditional dinner of KFC in Japan. WHAT. Okay, that is definitely some U.S. marketing at work.

France

In France a traditional dessert called buche de Noel is served – a buttercream filled cake frosted to look like a Yule log. THIS SOUNDS SO GOOD.


I’d love to hear some of your Christmas traditions!! If you have any you’d like to share please leave them in the comments :)

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

8 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas: Day 8

Let's Discuss

