On the 5th day of Bookmas…

My true love gave to mee: FIIIIIVE HOURS OF CRYIIIIIING!

Again, true love fail.

The 12 days of #MerryBookmas are hosted by @HailsHeartsNYC!

I would just like to be 100% honest and let you all know that it does not take much for me to cry. Lots of books make me cry. TV shows, movies. I JUST GET SO EMOTIONAL. Actually I’m more of the one glistening tear type. Let’s make this dignified.

Anyway, these are five books that made me cry for reals. Like, more than one tear. Tissues were involved.

Oh and if you haven’t read one of these books, don’t read what I say because it will definitely contain spoilers.


The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I actually read this for the first time in a college class. My prof was awesome, obviously. I totally knew Augustus would be the one to die. I KNEW IT. I’m pretty sure I even said that in discussions before we’d finished the book. My prof probably thought I was a cheater face and had read ahead. BUT I DIDN’T. Anyway, even though I knew it was going to happen, the tears were not even remotely prevented. I was sitting on the porch outside on a beautiful August day just bawling my eyes out. This one hurt my heart. I absolutely love this book. Proud of it.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling

And The Half-Blood Prince… and The Deathly Hallows… but I think this was one of the first books I read growing up that made me cry. When Sirius died I just felt like everything was so unfair. POOR HARRY. I totally didn’t believe it at first. I was sure he was going to come back and J.K. was playing a really mean trick on  me. BUT SHE WASN’T.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Oh my god. Peeta and Finnick. I absolutely adore both of them, and they were put through the ringer in this book. Seriously when Finnick died I saw it coming and I was like no. no. no. no. no. NOOOO! I know what you’re thinking; what about Prim? That’s a great question! I can’t remember. I’m pretty sure when I read the book, I was really upset and shocked when Prim was killed. But the image of the actress who was SUCH a TERRIBLE choice has convoluted the image of my Prim. And I’m bitter about it. Can you tell?

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

I have been hearing so many negative things about this series and it makes me so irritated because I absolutely loved it. If you loved it, please let me know so I don’t have to be stranded on my solitary island any more. But freaking Nikolai. Oh my god when the Darkling turns him into a nichevo’ya I was so upset. And then when he tries to get Alina to save him and she can’t. And when The Darkling dies. Because Leigh Bardugo just made me love all of her characters and then ripped them all away.

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

This book should be required for everyone to read. I had to read it for school and I’m so glad I did. We also read The Road, Feed, and V for Vendetta in that class.. man I’ve had some great professors. It’s essentially a group of short stories about soldiers in the Vietnam War, but it’s also not. It’s so, so beautiful and tragic and I highly recommend it if you have not had the opportunity to come across it yet.


I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

 

10 thoughts on “On the 5th day of Bookmas…

  1. The Charmed Reader says:

    the things they carried is one of my absolute favorite books I’ve ever read. It’s one of the few books that I’ve 5 starred. I don’t think I cried in The Order of the Phoenix mainly because when I read it I don’t think I understood what happened. Ugh and Finnick. That one was the worst. That was totally unnecessary while Prim’s death, in my opinion, needed to happen. And I thought it was totally obvious that Augustus was going to die from the beginning as well. It was told from Hazel’s POV, so it would have been a bit hard to kill her off. I haven’t finished the Grisha series, but I think it’s better that I know what happens now. Maybe it won’t affect me as much. Sorry. I was just going to comment on The Things They Carried, but then it kind of snowballed from there. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie G. says:

    I’m happy to see The Things They Carried on your list. It was the first “required reading” book that was assigned my freshman year of college. It may have also been the first “required reading” book that I read from start to finish. And excellent and heart-breaking story. I wish I still had my copy. I’m curious to see what I think of the story nearly 10 years later. (omg, I’m so ooooold)

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss

