December & January Wrap-Up AND February TBR!

Hello friends!

I have good news. I am slowly easing myself back into actual reading! I’m not sure what brought on this massive reading slump of mine, but re-reading Divergent has brought me back to life. Who’da thunk?

Since I was also in a blogging slump (I only posted FIVE times in January, what?!) I never actually did a wrap-up of December. I was going to skip it, but I read TWO WHOLE BOOKS in January, and I felt that would be a bit of a waste of space post. So I’m combining the two.

Finally, it’s already 8 days into February! How is this year flying by so quickly?! So I’m going to catch you up on what I’m reading right now and what I’d like to read in my month of toe-dipping. You know, like dipping your toes in the water? Easing in? If I have to explain my jokes they’re clearly not funny. You’d think I’d have learned this by now.


Books I Read:

EmmaThe Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)The Fortune HunterMr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore (Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, #1)The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)

Emma by Jane Austen –

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken –

The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin –

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan –

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey –

Currently Reading:

I’VE TRIED EVERYTHING. First I thought that The Secret History was calling to me, but it was much too dense (albeit amazing) to get me out of my slump. So then I thought I wanted to read a kind of chick-flicky book, enter Eat Pray Love.  But for some reason I still was not feeling the urge to read. Finally, we had a “read the morning away” at school, and all the kids were reading so I checked out the very few books I have on my phone/kindle app and LOW AND BEHOLD it opens to Divergent. So I started reading. And kept reading. SUCCESS.

Favorite Book of the Month(s):

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)

Least Favorite Book of the Month(s):

The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)


What’s next?! Well in the effort of not scaring off my burgeoning reading, I am not particularly ambitious this month. I’d like to finish the three books I’m currently reading (see above), and if I can manage that, I’d also like to read:

And that’s it. :)


I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

 

17 thoughts on “December & January Wrap-Up AND February TBR!

  1. Ayunda says:

    THE SECRET HISTORY IS AMAZING!!! Once you got to know the characters and got into the whole vibe, you won’t be able to stop reading! At least that’s what I felt while reading the book. I stayed up late even though I had an exam the next day 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thegrishalieutenant says:

    Oh no! I’m sorry that you’ve been in a slump. They’re freakkin awful. But it sounds like you’re back and you read some good books to drag you out of it. I didn’t love The 5th Wave either. It seemed like it was written to be a movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aimalfarooq says:

    Sorry to hear you’re in a slump. :( They’re the worst. I just got out of a 6-month long slump and it was awful.
    By the way. I’m so psyched that you’re liking TSH. Definitely not the best slumpy read but it’s so so good. *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      6 months?! Ahhh that’s terrible. I’ve read like 30 pages of it and I love it so far, I’m so intrigued and the writing is gorgeous! But I didn’t want to force myself to read it so I’m pausing haha

      Like

  4. Gabi @ Let's Gab About Books says:

    Ahh you read Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore!! I absolutely ADORED this book, it was well written and just so good. :) I haven’t read it in awhile but I really remember enjoying it!

    and enjoy Insurgent! It’s probably my fav in the series, but Allegiant kind of made me angry haha. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      I did! My boyfriend’s mom got it for me for Christmas. I really enjoyed it as well, it’s a very unique story. I actually think Divergent is my favorite. Tris and Four really irritate me for the rest of the trilogy haha! But it’s been years since I read them, so I need a refresher before the next movie comes out.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss

