Tis’ the Season of Love: The OTP Book Tag

Hello lovelies!

Happy Valentine’s Day! I was tagged for The OTP Book Tag by the hilarious Carlisa @ Confessions of Carlisa and I thought it would be just perfect to post on this holiday of lovers.. or single people.. or love! What have you. My lovely boyfriend is working today, so I will be living vicariously through my books. Since I was introduced to book blogging, I have learned a bit about the secret language of serious readers. However, the term “OTP” has eluded me. Thankfully, Carlisa has rectified my ignorance. I am pleased to announce I now know that OTP means “one true pairing”! Ladies and gentlemen, I have crawled out from under my rock. Now then, let’s talk a bit about my favorite fictional characters make me feel like this:


An Unpopular OTP That You Ship

I seriously don’t think I ship any unpopular ships. My ships are pretty-much chillin’ in the main stream. However, I am very aware of the gigantic love-triangle controversy in Throne of Glass, and I guess this is as good a time as ever for me to weigh in on that? I’ve only read the first book, so this is a very tentative opinion. BUUUT thus far, I have to say I would root for Prince Dorian over Chaol. I actually strongly disliked Chaol in the first book, which is strange because he reminded me of Jon Snow whom I love.


An OTP That You Didn’t Ship At First But Now You Do

My emotions were all over the place when I read The Grisha Trilogy. In Shadow and Bone, I was all about The Darkling. In Siege and Storm, I began to second guess my conviction because I just adored Nikolai. In both of these books I was strongly anti-Mal. I could not stand the guy, or Alina’s annoying demeaning crush on him. In Ruin and Rising though, somehow, I ended up feeling like they needed each other. I DON’T KNOW. I’ve said it before: Bardugo is the master of emotions.


Your Most Hated OTP

Romeo and Juliet. ROMEO AND JULIET. I have hated Romeo and Juliet since I first read the play my freshman year in high school. Stupid little lusting teenagers trying to rebel against mommy and daddy who end up killing themselves?! OH MY GOD. No.

P.S. Is it just me, or does he look a heck of a lot like Zac Efron circa High School Musical?


An OTP That Took Waaaay Too Long To Get Together

I am really tempted to choose Cress and Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles, but who am I kidding, the slow burn was perfect.

Soooo I’m going to go with Maxon and America from The Selection. 90% of the plot of the first three books is  America going back and forth between Maxon and Aspen. GAHHH. She was so irritating. Let’s be honest, she just wanted to have her cake and eat it too. Never mind the feelings of the guys. Playa playa.


Your Favorite Non-Canon OTP

Danaerys and Jon Snow from  A Song of Ice and Fire. I mean, come on. A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE. The wall + dragons? Yes please. In my dreams, the series ends wrapped up in a nice little bow with Dany and Jon on the throne of Westeros. If only George were into happy endings….


Your Favorite BRO-TP

I’m going to take this literally and go with Fred and George. Every time I re-read the series I enjoy them more. These amazing twin pranksters are freaking hilarious, and J. K. is brilliant for writing them in for much-needed comic relief. Even when George loses an ear, he cracks a joke. What’s not to love?


An OTP You Adored in the Books But Not As Much in The Adaptation

Errrmmm this is kind of a stretch, because I only adore them in the first book. But still, I’m going with Tris and Tobias in Divergent. You can all call me crazy, but the guy who plays Four is all wrong. He’s nothing like how I pictured him. And I think Shailene Woodley did a really good job at capturing the spirit of Tris, but it really irritates me when an author emphasizes an aspect of a character and then it’s completely ignored in the casting (*cough* Harry’s EYE COLOR *cough*) Tris is supposed to be tiny and childlike. Roth mentions it incessantly. It’s actually a bit irritating.  And then they pick a woman who’s what, 5’8″? I don’t know. The actors just clashed with my image of the characters so I’m not as supportive as I wanted to be.


An OTP That No Matter How Hard You Try, You Just Can’t Ship It

Emma and Jacob from the Peculiar Children series. I wanted to like them, I really did. Their relationship was sweet. ish. But I just found it really creepy! I mean, Emma had been in love with Jacob’s grandpa. And they have the same powers and are just really similar and… it’s just wrong! In addition, it didn’t add anything to the story. I think Riggs is a bit of an unskilled author who felt like their had to be a romance thrown in there. Personally, I think the focus should have stayed on the other peculiar children and their almost familial relationship. But whatever!


Your All-Time Favorite OTP

YEP. Proud of it. I am a die-hard Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters fan. Or possibly more accurately, a die-hard John Green fan. I absolutely adore The Fault in Our Stars. The relationship between Gus and Hazel is raw and sweet and beautifully realistic. It has no faults in my mind. Pun intended.


I hope you are all having a fantastic V-Day with your significant others or friends or family or just pampering yourself!

I tag:

Aimal @Bookshelves & Paperbacks

Ayunda @ Tea & Paperbacks

Kat @ Life and Other Disasters

Maria @ Marwhal Reads

Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

 

15 thoughts on “Tis’ the Season of Love: The OTP Book Tag

  1. Jackie G. says:

    Dorian vs. Chaol is actually kind of a challenge for me because I found myself to be fond of both fellows. I lean more towards Chaol though; I appreciate Dorian’s charisma and love for books, but I appreciated Chaol more because he supported Calaena and pushed her to fight harder.

    BUT I AM SO WITH YOU ON ROMEO AND JULIET. They take teen angst too far.

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      Have you read more than just the first book?? I don’t really know why I liked Dorian more. Just tired of the angsty good guy I suppose. Haha and yes they really do, I will never understand why people think Romeo and Juliet is romantic. I could not disagree more.

      Like

    • J. Bookish says:

      Hahaha I pretty passionately dislike them. I think I remember a conversation with my mom or something and 14 year old me saying Juliet was stupid and my mom being like you’ll understand once you’ve been in love… I still have not changed my mind hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    I WAS GOING TO SAY THAT THE GUY LOOKS LIKE ZAC EFRON AND THEN YOU WROTE IT IN THE CAPTION!? He had a doppelganger a couple decades back it seems …
    I feel you so much on Emma and Jacob … it doesn’t work for me either.
    Thanks for tagging me :D

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss

