Reflections of February

Gooodbyyyyeeee February! Come ooooon Spring!

I think I just need a new season. Time for Spring Cleaning inside my brain! Dang, I am just absent aren’t I. I hope I’m not giving any of you complexes. I have like 8,987,987 reviews I want to write and the back up is giving me anxiety! But I’m here now, and I am happy to say I’m officially out of my reading slump like FOR REAL. I’ve been reading up a storm this month and it’s been awesome. I’m quite proud of myself. I will say that I miss all of you very much and I am sorry I haven’t been active here, I’m not by any means planning on abandoning my blog, I’m just trying to find my writing voice again; I feel like I’ve been missing it lately and I don’t want to post things I’m not proud of. I’m sure you all get it! Or at least, I hope you do.

Books I Read:

Divergent by Veronica Roth – 5/5
Insurgent by Veronica Roth- 4/5
Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie – 4/5
Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – 2.5/5
The Museum of Extraordinary Things – 3.5/5
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – 4/5

(Look, they’re not all 3-stars!! It’s a miracle!)

Currently Reading:

Progress: 59%

My cat has decided to lay on my stomach/keyboard so I am poke-typing this. Damn cute little orange kitty.

Okay he’s moved. I am reluctantly adoring Red Rising so far. What do I mean by reluctantly adoring? I’ll tell you. I’m pretty sure Pierce Brown pulled all of the best parts out of popular dystopian/sci-fi/fantasy novels and transplanted them into his own story. This irritates the hell out of me. But I am also doing chores I’ve been putting off just so I can continue listening to the audiobook longer because I need to know what’s going to happen next. Therefore, reluctantly adoring.

Favorite Book of the Month:

I read Eleanor & Park a few years ago and hated it. I then wanted nothing to do with Rainbow Rowell.. until I discovered she had written a few adult contemporaries. I picked Attachments up at the bookstore, read the first few pages… and could not put it down. This story is so sweet and fun and warm and cozy and exactly what I needed. Thank you, Rainbow, for bringing me out of my slump. MWAH.

Least Favorite Book of the Month:

AAAND then, we have Eat Pray Love. Which I didn’t like. EPL is formatted as 108 “chapters”- some are stories, some are musings, some are history lessons. A few of these chapters I found both memorable and thought-provoking and have folded pages just waiting for quotes to be chosen for a review. However, the vast majority was boring. I actually skim-read. I NEVER skim-read. I just kept thinking it would get better because hello, Julia Roberts was charming in the movie. But it really didn’t do it for me. I don’t have enough in common with Gilbert to sympathize with her journey, and I won’t be reading any more of her work in the future.


Alternately, my sister had a beautiful baby girl this month! If you follow me on Twitter you may have noticed this sweet little thing broke me out of my silence and I actually tweeted for once. I MEAN LOOK AT HER.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I’ll write again soon. Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

14 thoughts on “Reflections of February

  1. aimalfarooq says:

    AW YAY, YOU’RE AN AUNT. :D Congratulations!
    I feel you on the “not-all-3-stars” front. Of the 13 or so books I’ve read this month, the large majority of them have been 3 stars. I’d rather read bad books than read painfully mediocre ones, LOLOL. I hate writing reviews for meh books. Negative reviews are fun, though.
    I didn’t like Divergent when I read it. :( I had to DNF at 80% because I couldn’t get through it. Glad you enjoyed it though. I also thought Attachments was okay… not Rowell’s best, but cute anyways. I loved the main character, though. He was such a cutie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • J. Bookish says:

      Thank you!! Haha I know I seriously think the stream of mediocre books is what put me in my reading slump. I was like what’s the poiiiint. Ahh I loved it, anything that allows me to take a quiz and find where I fit in generally interested in ;) And Attachments wasn’t mind blowing but it was really sweet and simple and I just needed it ! I feel like Lincoln at the moment. Gotta figure my shit out lol

      Like

Let's Discuss

