Disney Book Tag!

Look at me, three posts in a week! WOOT.

I don’t know if you know this, but I LOVE Disney. You can ask my boyfriend. I watch Disney movies way more often than a 23-year old should. So when Ashley @ Dreaming Through Literature tagged me to do the Disney Book Tag, I was basically stoked on life. And then I discovered that the questions for this tag are freaking hard.

I’m going to warn you right now, this post shall be dubbed gif-a-licious. How could I do a Disney tag without a million adorable moving pictures? That’s right, I couldn’t.


 The Little Mermaid: A character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water.”

Since I just finished Red Rising by Pierce Brown, the first character that popped into my head is Darrow. I would never call him an Ariel, but he leaves his people to join a world he quite literally does not know exists. Can’t get more out of your element than that!

Cinderella: A character who goes through a major transformation.

I’m not going to lie, totally went to Darrow again. But that would be cheating. Not to mention boring. SO, I’m going to go with Nikolai from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. He goes through two major transformations; one intentional, one definitively not. I just realized a bunch of my answers are going to be lame because an explanation would be a spoiler.. Grrrr.

Snow White: A book with an eclectic cast of characters?

I freaking despise Snow White. Just for the record. But I love Lily Collins, which makes up for it.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. Because, hello, have you ever met a centaur?

Sleeping Beauty: A book that put you to sleep?

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I read it last month, and it took FOREVER to get through it because I kept having to force myself to pick it up. It quite literally put me to sleep a few times.

The Lion King: A character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood?

OH MY GOD I desperately want to watch The Lion King now. Mufasa’s death was a traumatic event that happened in MY life.

How about Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. Let’s talk about a laundry list of traumatic life events.. that little girl is a damaged badass.

Beauty and the Beast: A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by but found the story to be beautiful?

Can we take a moment to appreciate this gorgeous gesture? Because I know all of us bookworms have had a special place for this movie since childhood. Although climbing ladders to the top of those shelves would be terrifying.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I read this for the first time in 8th grade and I hated it. Then I read it again in 10th grade and loved the beauty of the story. I really want to re-read it soon and see how I feel about it 8 years later; but I’m intimidated by it all over again!

Aladdin: A character that gets their wish granted, for better or for worse?

I’m struggling to think of anything for this one. Okay Anna from My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, who wins her case, and then… Was anyone else incredibly pissed off at the end of the movie because A DIFFERENT SISTER DIED?! I’m pretty sure I sat there incredulously for about ten minutes.

Mulan: A character who pretends to be something or someone they’re not?

Ruby from The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken who pretends to be green when she’s really.. dun dun DUNN.

Toy Story: A book with characters you wish would come to life?

ARRY POTTER! Of course. Because if they become real then magic becomes real and then I can go to HOGWARTS even though I’m 23 and I’d be in class with 11-year old’s. DON’T CARE.

Disney’s Descendants: Your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character?

What on earth are Disney’s Descendants?! I’m old, aren’t I.

I think my favorite morally ambiguous/villain (depending on how you feel about him) character is The Darkling from the Grisha Trilogy. He is the reason I love the series so much after all; he does terrible things, but somehow you still want to root for him.


I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading.

J. Bookish

23 thoughts on “Disney Book Tag!

    • J. Bookish says:

      Hahaha it’s a tragic scene. I actually have a love/hate relationship with Red Rising because I’m kind of obsessed with it but I also think the author pieced together a lot of other authors ideas which bothers me. And thank you, it’s good to be back ;)

      Like

  1. Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff says:

    Disney Descendants is a Disney Channel movie that came out last year and I 100% recommend it. It’s a lot of fun and really cute :D I didn’t expect to love it as much as I do, but I’ve seen it multiple times already and especially when it had just come out I was kind of obsessed haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anovelglimpse says:

    I can tell you all about the Descendants. I have an 8 year-old daughter who LOVES that movie, so I’ve seen it more than once. It’s about Mal (daughter of Maleficent, Jay (son of Jafar), Evie (daughter of the Evil Queen) and Carlos (son of Cruella de Vil). They leave their prison of the Isle of the Lost and go to school with the descendants of Belle, etc. They’re supposed to be learning to be good while secretly being evil. It’s a fun musical.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss

