On the second day of Bookmas…

My true love gave to me: TWO REALLY BAD ENDIIIIIINGS

Erm, excuse me? True love fail.

It’s the second day of #MerryBookmas hosted by HailsHeartsNYC! Today we are discussing two of our least-favorite endings to books or series. I’m excited about this because I get to mention some books that I never talk about. Because the ending made me hate them. Ya know. The usual.


The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

I can not for the life of me figure out why this book is so popular. I will admit that the writing is beautiful and the cover is gorgeous, but other than that it has no redeeming qualities. I HATED the ending. It still makes me feel sick thinking about it. I think it was utterly revolting and unnecessary. This is probably the darkest book I’ve ever read.


Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

I really hated this book in general. I hated all of the characters except the admiral. I am forgiving Jane for her terrible ending in this book because technically she didn’t publish it herself; maybe she would have changed it?! The entire book is basically thrown out in the last 30 pages. And it’s a LONG book. So I was mad because I didn’t like the ending match-ups and because the entire book had felt like a waste. All of the character development was completely erased. Just blah.


I’m sorry for this incredibly negative post! Just channeling my inner Grinch ;)

I’ll write again soon! Until then, keep reading!

J. Bookish

18 thoughts on “On the second day of Bookmas…

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Oh no! I’m currently reading My True Love Gave to Me, so I’ll brace myself for the ending… And oh my gosh, I’ve watched Mansfield Park and I haven’t read the book ye, but just, OH NO! D: I actually really liked the story (the way the film in interpreted it) so I was hoping I’d like the book if I ever picked it up. I do like Jane Austen, but that’s awful about the ending. :/

    Like

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    I absolutely agree about Mansfield Park- it left me wanting to scream “Fanny why don’t you have a backbone??” and honestly I felt like she treated the guy she ended up with a lot like a brother, so it felt creepy to me. It’s the only Austen I don’t like :(

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss